Saturday, June 18, 2016

Pizza 101: The Best Halal Desi Pizza in Town

Restaurant: Pizza 101
Address: 15215 Southwest Freeway, Sugar Land, Texas
Buffet or a-la-carte: A-la-carte
Date of visit: 5/28/16



Background:
Salam/hey guys! I hope everyone is having a great Ramadan! Today I will be writing about one of the newest halal pizza places in town: Pizza 101. I first heard about it on Facebook when the owner announced that the restaurant will be opening in Sugar Land. I was really excited to see another halal pizza place opening up in Sugar Land, and wondered how it will compare to U.B.'s. Thing is though, that this turned out it will have both Desi pizzas (i.e. kabab pizza, chicken tikka pizza, etc.) and regular pizzas. So it wouldn't be fair to compare them to a place that has Arab pizzas. Some people actually got to try it, including one of my good friends. She was a really big fan of it. Everyone who tried it got the Desi style pizzas, and they said they loved it. Those same people said that it was the best halal pizza in town, but I took that with a pinch of salt. This is because you cannot compare Desi style pizza to regular pizzas you get at Home Base, Crespo, or Russo's. Just to let you know, regular pizzas = meat lovers, supreme, beef pepperoni, etc. You cannot expect the regular style pizzas to have the same amount of spices as the Desi style pizzas. And I say this because I have had Desi style pizza before in my pre-blogging days. Anyways, the time came for me to try Pizza 101 after I attended a nikkah (declaration of legal contract between bride and groom in an Islamic marriage). I was really hungry, and was in the mood of a major cheat meal. So I thought "why not try this place since it just opened up". After the ceremony was over, I headed to the restaurant.



Let The Experience Begin!
Pizza 101 is located way at the back of the strip mall complex on 59 and Williams Trace (same complex as Aling's). In fact, you have to turn onto Williams Trace just to get there. Next to it is a Marble Slab. Inside, there was a TV playing and the interior looked really ice. There were facts about pizza on one side of the wall, There were two TVs above the cashier showing the menu. After waiting, I was ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I was originally going to do the build your own, but it ends up that they charge for every ingredient added. This was not mentioned on the menu and I was pretty disappointed. It's not right to rip people off like this, especially those who are on a budget. What Blaze Pizza and MOD Pizza are doing by allowing you to put unlimited toppings for one price is becoming increasingly popular, and we need more than one halal pizza place to do so. I asked them what their popular pizzas were, and they said the kabab madness and the chicken tikka pizza. So I went with a small kabab madness. The kabab madness pizza consists of  Problem was, they didn't have the small crust, so I had gotten a medium pizza. I really didn't get the logic. How can you say that you only have medium or large if they require more dough than a small?? Yes, it may be your soft opening, but you should still be able to make some more dough if one were to order a small and take a lot away from the medium or large pizzas. Thankfully, they let me pay for the medium for the same price of a small.



Menu: Pizza 101 has regular style pizzas along with two Desi style pizzas: the chicken tikka and the kabab madness. They have pasta as well. The drinks are priced pretty high in my opinion. I got the menu from their Yelp page because their website didn't mention the pizza prices for some reason.



The Pizzas (Photo Credit: their Yelp Page)


Appetizers, Pastas, Drinks, and Desserts (Photo Credit: their Yelp Page)

Kabab Madness


The Verdict:
Despite the issues in the menu pricing and the unavailability of the small size, the pizza was phenomenal. The kabab in the pizza was out of this world! Everything else was full of flavor adn was really tasty. The dough was not too thick. Two thumbs up for the pizza.



Conclusion:
Pizza 101 definitely has a chance of beating out Crespo and Home Base Pizza in the title of best halal pizza in Houston. I hope they add the menu prices for the extra toppings in the build your own pizzas. I'll definitely come back and try the other pizzas that they offer.



Grading:
Service: 7/10
Food: 9/10
Total: 16/20 = 80% (B)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Pizza 101
15215 Southwest Freeway, Sugar Land, Texas
Phone: (281) 201- 8525
Website: http://www.pizza101tx.com/index.html
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pizza101tx/
Timings: Mon-Thu & Sun: 12 PM - 11 PM; Fri-Sat: 12 PM - 12 AM
Caters: not yet, but will eventually start
Delivery will start soon
Ordering online available

Feel free to comment below, send me an email, or message me on Facebook!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Hot Breads Bakery: A Place for Bite Size Food on Hillcroft

Restaurant: Hot Breads
Address: 5700A Hillcroft Avenue, Houston, Texas
Buffet or a-la-carte: A-la-carte
Date of visit: 5/26/16



Photo Credit: their website

Background:
Salam/hey guys! Welcome to my latest review! Today's review is of a popular snacking place called Hot Breads. Just letting you know, there is another Hot Breads on Westheimer, but it isn't affiliated with this one. They have been open since 2002. Ever since moving here, my parents would often get their cakes from here, and we all would enjoy them. I never got the chance to go inside and actually try the food. We went after my doctor's appointment on my mom's insistence.



Let The Experience Begin:
Hot Breads is located in the same strip mall as Busy Boy and Bismillah. The really nice lady greeted us, and also helped us on deciding what to get. There was a huge display of everything Hot Breads offered. We ordered as we ate.



Let's Eat!
Mom got some bread, water, and a chicken tikka croissant. I got Frooti Mango Juice (one of my all time favorite things to drink), goat keema pastry, and a chocolate puff. It was very affordable. Stuff is seen being made at the back. The croissant and pastry were heated up in the microwave and were promptly given. I was handed the pastry. You pay for everything at the end.



The pricing here is really good for the snack options. You can even get your birthday cake from here. It's mainly a fusion of East and West (examples include chicken tikka croissant and chicken tikka pizza)


Clockwise from top left: Chocolate pastry, goat keema puff, Frooti, and chicken tikka croissant


The Verdict:
The food was awesome! Everything was tasty. The goat keema was the best tasting thing. This was the first puff that I had enjoyed for a long time. Overall, two thumbs up!
The service was great too. The lady was very nice, and we conversed with her the entire time we were there.



Conclusion:
Hot Breads is a great place to either grab a snack or grab dessert. The person is really nice and the food was tasty. Time for me to consider going here after eating at either Busy Boy or Bismillah. I would recommend that you guys should give this place a try. After all, excellent food and cheap prices are a winning combination.



Grading:
Service: 9/10
Food: 9/10
Total: 18/20 = 90% (A)



Restaurant Information:

Hot Breads
5700A Hillcroft Avenue, Houston, Texas
Phone: (713) 785-1212
Website: http://www.houstonhotbreads.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HoustonHotBreads/?fref=ts
Timings: Mon-Sun: 9:30 AM - 7 PM
Caters: Yes

Feel free to comment below, send me a message on Facebook, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Halal BBQ Cook Off and Festival: A Lookback

DISCLAIMER: This was the first time we had done this. If you are reading this and have attended the cook off before, please bear with us. We will definitely make an effort to make next year a more improved experience.


Salam/hey guys! So my masjid (Masjid al Mustafa on 17250 Coventry Park Drive, Houston, Texas() had hosted a BBQ Cook Off and carnival. This was the first time that there was ever a BBQ Cook Off with halal meat. And guess who came up with the rules and was inspired to start the idea? Me! So how did the idea come about?

Well, I was driving down on 290 one day near the I-10 exit, and I saw an advertisement for the BBQ Cook Off that was taking place at the rodeo. I knew that eating any food at the rodeo would be next to impossible because of the wide usage of pork and beer. I have been living in Houston for the past 10 years, and given that Texas is a major barbecue state, it was high time that we had our own halal version of it. Heck, there is even a Kosher chili cook off that occurs yearly too. The main objectives were to make the first one successful, make it a yearly thing, and also learn from past experiences running it. Before I came up with a plan and rule book that is similar to the one at the rodeo.

The rules were simple, but made complicated during the competition. All meat had to be zabiha halal, and that there would be 3 categories: Texan, Desi, and Arab. All halal meats could be used. The gas had to be turned off if leaving otherwise the team would be disqualified. They had to have 5 lb of meat (later changed to at least 5 lb) for the cook off. With communication with the competitors, the rules would change later, mainly because I had not mentioned it earlier. Finally, I picked the judges.
After getting the rules approved, it was time to start planning. We collaborated the carnival with the cook off, meaning that there would be rides and other food as well. We got Gyro King to come along, as well as get things such as a mechanical bull, moonwalk, and rock climbing. It was also time to get the competitors. The sign up rate was going well, with spots filling up. Everything went smoothly until I announced a competitor fee. Because of backlash, I stopped it. I take responsibility for not announcing earlier. Then, people started backing out. I mainly communicated by email, because I did not feel comfortable giving my phone number away to the public. By the end of the deadline, 13 out of 15.
As the time progressed on the day of the event, there were many bumps. Many were not showing up, and they never informed me that they were not going to compete. Some backed out a few HOURS before the competition was about to start (which honestly is disrespectful). One brisket person was setting up already, and the judges arrived. The judges were Hasan Gopalani, a good friend of mine and a BBQ fanatic, and Alison Cook, the food critic of the Houston Chronicle (main newspaper of Houston). At the end, 5 competitors showed up. Gyro King also provided food for the public. The food in the community was also being sold. They had tikka, samosas, burgers, cotton candy, nachos, and sodas for sale.
As judging progressed, the competition brewed up. Along with the brisket, there was mixed grill from team Lebanon with salad, hummus and garlic sauce (I have a lot to talk about this), chicken tikka, tikka teriyaki (interesting combo), naan, and raita from team Bengal Cajun, a skewer of chicken kabab made by Safa Marwah, and bihari kabab, seekh kabab, naan, and vegetables from team Shaaz Grill. The brisket team also made the remaiing brisket into brisket sliders, which I thought was a good idea.


Brisket Sliders


Mix over Rice from Gyro King





Naan and raita from Bengal Cajun


Mix Grill, Hummus, and Garlic sauce from Team Lebanon


Tikka Teriyaki and Chicken Tikka from Team Bengal Cajun






All the judges really liked the dishes, and also had some constructive criticism to give. All three of us liked the brisket. I loved the bihari kabab from Shaaz Grill. Hasan loved Safa's chicken, and Alison loved the chicken dishes from Bengal Cajun. I found the garlic sauce from Team Lebanon to be ok, while Hasan found the texture of their food to be grainy. Overall, a good showing from all the competitors.

So the winner was the brisket after all the judges' scores were calculated. It was neck and neck. Below are the scores.

1) Mohammad Khan: 25/30
2) Team Lebanon: 23.5/30
3) Safa Marwah: 23/30
4) Shaaz Grill: 22.5/30
5) Bengal Cajun: 22/30

Alison and Hasan really enjoyed the food and loved the fact that it happened despite the major bumps we had. I personally felt that it could be better.

Now, there are two things I would like to tell you guys. Firstly, PLEASE understand that this was our first time doing this, so of course mistakes are bound to happen. These sort of things are part of a learning experience. If you expect everything to be perfect at the first time with everyone doing something like this for the first time ever, then I am sorry, you have extremely unrealistic expectations. You need to understand that it takes time for things to be perfect, and that every human makes mistakes. There will never be a perfect person with the exception of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).


The second thing is directed to the volunteers, organizers, and to the masjid board. The only way we will learn from the mistakes we made is to acknowledge the mistakes we made and rectifying them as a team instead of pointing fingers at people for specific faults or putting the blame on one specific person for screwing up the entire event. If we want to make this successful in the future, teamwork plays a major role. Telling stuff behind peoples' backs or stopping someone in a group from speaking up about something are major ways of making sure that the cook off will never occur again. and it would also lead a person to never want to visit a masjid again.





Thursday, May 26, 2016

Larosh Grill- A halal Pakistani place in northern Katy

Restaurant: Larosh Grill
Address: 18855 West Little York Road, Katy, Texas 77449
Buffet or a-la-carte: a-la-carte
Date of visit: 4/27/2016



Background:
Salam/hey guys! After nearly a month of absence, I am back food blogging! The reasons for the long absence are: school and restriction from parents. School got really busy as finals were around the corner. I had to concentrate on that as I was really worried about not getting straight As (Alhamdulilah I ended up getting them). This was the last cash that I would have for a while, since I was discouraged from having it on me. Nevertheless, I was able to eat at some places, but not new ones because the new restaurants that opened up this year are really far away (i.e. Sugar Land, Southwest and Northeast Harris county). Very few openings occurred in Northern Harris County these past few months. Most of the reviews this year, with the exception of Nyam Nyam, Garbanzo, and Uyghur Bistro, have been of places that were open for at least 11 months. It is honestly hard to believe that I have tried nearly half of the halal restaurants in Houston for the past 3 years. There were a couple of Ls I took. The prime L I took was Torchy's Tacos having halal lamb for a limited period. I know for sure that there are some places that I have in mind to try either during Ramadan or after Ramadan. I also hope to try a few places in Atlanta, Austin, Chicago, Dallas (unless we go to places that I've been to before), and Kansas City. Chicago, Dallas, and Austin are confirmed, and I hope the other cities would be confirmed as well.

Anyways, the last review before the hiatus was of Larosh Grill. Larosh is the newest Pakistani restaurant in Katy. Now why was I particular about trying this place? Well. it was to determine whether it would be worth convincing my parents to consider getting takeout here instead of Khan BBQ. For the past 7 years, Khan BBQ has been the only place that my parents would get takeout from. In fact, we gt it so often that my dad has experimented with different items. Long before I started this blog, my dad would get the chicken karahi (too oily and needed salt), daal (nothing compared to Al Markaz in Dallas), biryani (bland), and naan (one of two acceptable things). It used to be based on what my mom and sister wanted ONLY. We have even called them from as far as Hobby Airport, and also Brazos Bend State Park. There have been some really irritating moments that I can remember. I remember once at my mosque, I got a few boxes of biryani from another Pakistani place, but my dad got one box of biryani specifically from them (which made absolutely no sense at all). Another instance I remember was when my dad decided to "surprise" me with food, which turned out to be their mediocre biryani. He would often boast about their biryani, as if he was paid to advertise their food wherever he would go. When we had no food on Mondays, my mom fried eggs. I would just think "Instead of wasting your paycheck at that place, why not make fried eggs on other days as well". Finally, it turned out that they went there on my birthday while I was at D'Marcos enjoying delicious deep dish pizza. It pretty much tells about their preferences and further proves the fact that most of my trips are much better when I go by myself or with friends. This was cemented when they actually did not honor my request FOR MY BIRTHDAY DINNER to go to either Sayad or Mai Colachi (we had relatives over and some were very picky), a place that's actually suitable for special occasions. We ended up at Jamillah, which turned out that it was PLANNED TWO WEEKS BEFORE MY BIRTHDAY. To be fair, the same ordeal happened to my sister where she wanted Bonefish, yet ended up at Saravanaa Bhavan. The major difference is that Saravanaa Bhavan is one of her favorite places, while Jamillah was mediocre, enough for me to deduct their overall food score.

Now regarding Khan BBQ, my sister also plays a major role into why we hardly get takeout from the other 280+ and 20 nearest halal places to my house. One mention of "chappli kabab" or "Chargha" and I would be told to get it. Yet, if I say "I want pizza" (i.e. Home Base, which actually has tasty food and is much closer to my house), they bring up the no-going-out card or "it's too fat card". One mention of grilled chicken teriyaki from Bonsai and I would be expecting a major yelling. Frankly, it is completely hypocritical to immediately reject my request for the reasons above yet let my sister get her choice. It is illogical to say no to shish tawook (which is LITERALLY grilled chicken Arab style), Jujeh (grilled chicken Persian style) or even boti (grilled chicken cubes Indian/Pakistani) from somewhere like Bundu Khan WHEN CHARGHA IS FREAKING DEEP FRIED AND NOT GRILLED. And they claim that chargha is healthy when it is much worse than grill chicken since it's deep fried.

Now Larosh opened in late 2015, replacing Tikka Boti (never tried it as I read somewhere that the owners made their 7 and 8 year old children work as waiters, and I refuse to give my business to anyone who make little children work). I had been eager to wanting to try that place. I did get one chance with their malai boti, and it was pretty good. Now hopefully after this second trip, I would try to go again and then make my case for changing the main takeout from Khan BBQ to Larosh.



Let The Experience Begin!
Larosh is located next to The Cave Hookah Lounge. Inside, the decorations were pretty nice, and the place was clean. It was however, completely dead inside. I was only one of two people inside, and I was the only one who was dining in. It was a really awkward feeling to be honest. The counter was in the front, and there were pamphlets which had lunch specials. And lo and behold, the curries had free stuff with them. This is something extremely rare, but it should be mandatory because not every single person would want to pay extra for naan or rice, not every single person wants to sample all the curries, and not every single person wants to eat a large amount of curry, biryani, or tikka. If Arab, Turkish, Persian, or even Chinese places give free rice with your entree, why can't Indian or Pakistani places start doing the same thing and making it fair for the customer? Anyways, after the gentleman placed his to-go order, I was ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered chicken biryani. I figured that it would be one thing to try so that I could convince them to change their minds, since they're obsessed with Khan BBQ's version. The price? $7.57 (tax included)! So far so good. The waiting time was 12 minutes, much better than me having to wait for an hour for a few naans. I literally just sat on my phone the entire time.
One thing that threw me off was that at the table I sat in, one of the plates was dirty. There were some stains on the plates. I didn't want to take a pic because I was disgusted by it. But the plate next to me was clean.



Menu: http://laroshgrill.com/#menu

Besides the lunch specials, the Larosh menu is generic. You have popular generic items such as biryani, tikka, chicken karahi, and naan. They even have some items such as sandwiches and burgers, both Pakistani style and non-Pakistani style.


The Chicken Biryani


The Verdict:
The biryani came with raita and "salad" which turned out to be onions, bell peppers and carrots. Now the taste was very weird. It looked good when it came to the table. However, it seemed like lemon juice was added to the biryani, because the smell of lemon was dominating. This smell would likely indicate that this is chicken Sindhi Biryani, a type biryani that is said to be originated in the Pakistani province of Sindh. Taste-wise, it was just OK. Nothing to brag about really.
Service wasn't that bad either. The person was normal. Nothing to complain about.



Conclusion:
The biryani was OK, but not enough for me to convince my parents to change their takeout preference. What a bummer. If you are looking for the best Pakistani food or biryani in town, then I suggest you look somewhere else as this lies in the middle of the huge list. The next time I would try this place is if it were to cater to another event, or if I decide to make another visit if I feel like trying to once again convince my parents to get takeout from here instead of Khan BBQ.



Grading:
Service: 8/10
Food: 6.5/10
Total: 14.5/20 = 72.5% (C)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Larosh Grill
18855 West Little York Road, Katy, Texas 77449
Phone: (281) 861-4612
Website: http://laroshgrill.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LaroshGrill/
Timings:

Tuesday: closed
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Sunday: 11 AM - 9 PM
Friday and Saturday: 11 AM - 10 PM

Caters: yes

Feel free to comment below, send me a message on Facebook, or send me an email

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Saturday, April 30, 2016

BIG ANNOUCEMENT:

Salam/hey guys! I am pleased to announce that my mosque (Masjid Al Mustafa at 17250 Coventry Park Drive in Houston, TX) is hosting a carnival and a Halal BBQ Cook-off!

What is a BBQ Cook off? A BBQ Cook off is when people compete for the best BBQ in a competition setting. There are a wide variety of BBQ that exists all over the world. There is Texan BBQ, Desi (Indian/Pakistani BBQ), Arab BBQ, etc. This is the first time ever that a halal BBQ cook off is happening in the city. There are already major BBQ cook offs that take place in Houston, but there is a lot of pork that is used in those cook offs. I hope you guys can make it!

Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill- A Healthy, Halal Mediterranean Version of Chipotle

Restaurant: Garbanzo Mediterranean
Address: 947 Gessner Road, Houston, Texas 77024
Buffet or a-la-carte: neither
Date of visit: 4/9/16


Background:
Salam/hey guys! Welcome to my latest review of Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill! Today I will be giving you guys a walkthrough of the restaurant, and give you an idea of how the food tastes. Garbanzo Mediterranean is a Halal Mediterranean version of Chipotle. You get to pick a meat, and unlimited number of sides, just like chipotle. Like Chipotle, you go through a line with the person helping you out on what items you have. The obvious difference is that Garbanzo actually has halal options unlike Chipotle. Garbanzo also has locations in San Antonio, Atlanta, Denver, Colorado Springs, Ft. Collins, Phoenix, and Los Angeles. I got to go after I had finished an event and before I had to head to UH. After going through traffic, I arrived at the place.



Let The Experience Begin!
Garbanzo is located off I-10 in the same area as Kuu restaurant in the Memorial Hermann Memorial City complex. The inside looks really nice, but I was literally the only person inside the restaurant. Without hesitation, I was ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered the sirloin steak plate. For the sides, I got rice, salad, vegetables, garlic sauce, and feta cheese. It came with free bread. All of that food for just $9.30 (tax included). Really good value and a generous portion.



Menu: only their chicken and steak are halal. But everything is under $10 if you don't get anything to drink. You also have the option of pita, gyro (not sure if you can put any meat in the gyro), salad, and wrap. Regarding the meats and veggies, you also have chicken (either chopped up or in a skewer), a steak skewer, portobello mushrooms, falafel, and gyro meat (again, not halal). What I don't like is that bottled water is $1.99.



The plate


The Verdict:
The food was decent. I actually found it to be better than some of the Mediterranean places that I've been to in my lifetime, but not as good as other Mediterranean places. The presentation looks good. Every part of the plate has each item, and the sauce is on the top. I'm sure that you could ask them for garlic sauce on the side. The person helping me in the front is friendly.



Conclusion:
I wouldn't mind coming here again and trying out the chicken items and the other sides. Just two suggestions: get white pita and also have a free cup of water. If other places can do it, why can't they?



Grading:
Service: 7/10
Food: 7.5/10
Total: 14.5/20 = 72.5% (C)
Pricing: $ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill
947 Gessner Road, Houston, Texas 77024
(832) 804-9616
Website: http://eatgarbanzo.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GarbanzoMedFresh/?fref=ts&ref=br_tf
Timings: Mon-Sun: 11 AM - 9 PM
Caters: Yes

Feel free to comment below, send me an email, or message me on Facebook!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed


Monday, April 11, 2016

Nyam Nyam Cafe- Halal Savory Crepes Have Arrived in Houston

Restaurant: Nyam Nyam Cafe
Address: 15201 Mason Road, Cypress, Texas 77433
Buffet or a-la-carte: A-la-carte:
Date of Visit: 4/6/16



Background:
Salam/hey guys! Welcome to my latest review. Today, I will be writing up about my trip to a place that has unique halal options. The place is called Nyam Nyam Cafe. Pretty weird name for a place that serves halal options right? Nyam Nyam Cafe is a place that has kebabs, pirozhki, a baked/fried bun stuffed with a variety of toppings, and crepes. Crepes and pirozhki both come in either sweet (dessert items), and savory (meat, vegetables, cheese, etc.) versions. I've always enjoyed eating a Nutella crepe. In fact, Cafe Pita has a nutella crepe, and I really liked it. But what I really wanted to try was a halal savory crepe. Ironically, I loved the crepe, but I strongly dislike the Indian crepe, dosa. I always found the dosa (which is always savory) to be extremely sour to my liking. My desire to try a halal savory crepe started all the way back in 2014 when I had asked Coco's Crepes about their merguez (sausage from North Africa) being halal. They had responded by saying no. I was shocked (no joke). I found it very ironic how something from a Muslim majority region would not be halal. Even on their website, they stated "Merguez Moroccan Sausage". I honestly wonder where they get their merguez since it isn't halal. The desire accelerated when I had gone to Sweet Paris in at CityCentre and got the feast crepe (eggs, cheese, and vegetables) and the Nutella crepe. They have actually been open for a while, but I never got the opportunity to try it, despite it being only 15 minutes from Prairie View and my house. The desire to try it ASAP died down, until I saw another food blogger talking about that place and how amazing it was on Snapchat (my Snapchat is halal_reviewer). I then realized that I had enough money to spend for the month of April. It was important that I had enough money in April because later in the month, I'm gonna treat one of my best friends for his birthday. After my class had ended, I was ready to go.



Let The Experience Begin!
Nyam Nyam Cafe is located just after the Cypresswood intersection in the same strip mall as Sunrise Cafe, Subway, and Pizza Hut. The inside was really nice, and you could see your crepes being made. The restaurant was completely packed, so packed that I sat on the stool instead of the table. When I was recording using snapchat, I had to make sure that I was't focusing on one person. The friendly owner greeted me, and I confirmed that they had halal lamb (which was the main reason why I had wanted to go here). I was then ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered the Mediterranean lamb crepe. I got a few vegetables to add on with the crepe. The crepe came with a yogurt based sauce and feta cheese. I paid $14.06 (tax included). While waiting, I talked to the owner. It was then that I realized that their chicken was also halal, but not the beef and duck. The same thing was applicable the pirozhkis. Everything is also cooked in a clean pan.



Menu: http://www.nyamnyamcafe.com/
The reason I put the website is because if you click "menu" it will scroll down on the website to where the menu is. Anyways, the menu was great and there were a good variety of crepes. They even have a crepe with red caviar. Red caviar is actually a Russian delicacy. It's eggs from salmon. It's actually more affordable than beluga or sturgeon caviar. They also have the sweet crepes that are commonly enjoyed by menu. The pirozhkis seem to be delicious. One important thing that they have is a breakfast crepe, where you can put the halal chicken in it instead of sausages! You can have that with a variety of coffees and teas, Finally, they have the traditional Russian soup called borscht, which has beets and cabbage.




The Crepe Topped with feta cheese and the sauce on the side

The Verdict:
To make it short and simple: Fantastic! Easily the best meal of the year so far for me among new restaurants! I found this to be as good as Sweet Paris. Everything was fresh and full of flavor. The wait was definitely worth it. Even the sauce went well with the crepe. The food was pretty filling too. I didn't drink anything as I didn't have enough money to spend on a drink. Overall, two thumbs up!
The service was wonderful. The owner and the workers were extremely nice. They looked like they loved their jobs and loved to make food for their customers.



Conclusion:
If you want to eat at a place that's halal and near the Premium Outlets off 290, or if you ever want to try a halal savory crepe, then this is your go to place. I'll definitely be making more trips here, and I hope they will keep the halal options.




Grading:
Service: 10/10
Food: 10/10 (First in a long time)
Total: 20/20 = 100% (A)
Pricing: $ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Nyam Nyam Cafe
15201 Mason Road, Cypress, Texas 77433
Phone: (832) 653-5900
Website: http://www.nyamnyamcafe.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NyamNyamCafeTX

Timings:
Mon- Closed
Tue-Thu: 8 AM - 8 PM
Fri-Sat: 8 AM - 9 PM
Sun: 8 AM - 3 PM

Caters: yes

Feel free to comment below, send me an email, or send me a message on Facebook!
Cheers!
Zain Mohammed