Monday, May 18, 2015

Indian Grill - A Halal Restaurant in Greenspoint

Restaurant: Indian Grill
Address: 185 Greens Road, Houston, Texas 77060
Buffet or a-la-carte: Buffet
Date of visit: 5/16/14




Photo Credit: http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/06/a9/bf/e2/indian-grill.jpg



Background:
Salam/hey guys! After nearly a month away from blogging due to exams, I am back! Today I will be reviewing an Indian restaurant: Indian Grill. Quite generic if you ask me to be honest. Now why would I be reviewing a place near Bush airport and my old high school during my Summer Break? Well, it's because I was volunteering at Bayyinah's event at the Hilton Houston North, where Nouman Ali Khan was giving an in-depth look at Surah Yaseen (Chapter 36) of the Quran. There was food in the hotel, but the line was too long. Thankfully, this place was literally two minutes from the Hotel. After the break time started, I left for the restaurant.




Let The Experience Begin!

The restaurant is located in the same strip mall as IHOP on Greens Road right at the intersection at I-45. Inside was dead. There was barely anyone there. I was greeted at the door and asked what the price was for the buffet. After getting a reasonable answer, I sat down.



Let's Eat!

This place has a lunch time buffet, so I went for that. There were vegetarian options like daal and aloo gobi (potatoes and cauliflower curry). What I had was the chicken biryani, lamb vindaloo, chicken tikka masala, and the chicken chappli kabab. To drink, I had water. I paid a total of $10.81 (tax included)



Menu: http://www.indiangrill.net/

This restaurant has all the basics of an Indian restaurant, such as rice, vegetarian and non-vegetarian curries, appetizers, and a few Indo-Chinese dishes.




The Buffet



The Verdict:
Overall, the buffet was average at its best. The biryani barely passed. The butter chicken wasn't really that flavorful. A good chunk of the lamb pieces on the vindaloo mostly had bone instead of the actual meat. The chappli kabab was probably the best thing. I washed down the food with a nice full glass of water. Overall, one side thumb.
The service was normal. The owner seemed like a nice guy because unlike many other Desi restaurant owners, he was not rude and actually had a smile on his face. The person serving me was very nice.



Conclusion:
Indian Grill could definitely improve their buffet, as it is average at its best. Only the chappli kabab was the decent item on the buffet. If you want some good Indian food, then I would recommend you go somewhere else.



Grading:
Service: 8/10
Food: 6.5/10
Total: 14.5/20 = 72.5% (C)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Indian Grill
185 Greens Road, Houston, Texas 77060
Phone: (281) 781-8718
Website: http://www.indiangrill.net/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IndianGrill.Houston?fref=ts
Timings: Mon-Sat: 11 AM - 9 PM; Sun: Closed
Caters: Yes


Feel free to comment below, send me a message on Facebook or Twitter, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Fresh Foods Co at Moody Towers: Not Great food for College Food

Fresh Foods Co.
Location: Moody Towers, University of Houston, Houston, Texas
Buffet or a-la-carte: None
Date of visit: 5/6/2015



Background:
Salam/hey guys! After such a really long time, I am back! The reason for the long absence was because of school. Anyways, I will be writing about Fresh Food Co. at Moody Towers. Last semester, UH Dining started serving halal chicken in the dining hall at Moody Towers at UH. It was started because of the high demand that Muslim students had for halal food availability on campus. At first, it used to be shared with the gluten-free table. Now, it has a separate section with a list of items that are available that uses halal chicken. I decided to go here mainly because of the fact that I was not allowed to go off campus to eat otherwise the delay would have been much longer. Also, Coreanos wasn't on campus and I didn't want to eat Tandoori Nite. I did remember people saying that Moody could be a hit or miss, so I decided that since I would most likely be transferring to Prairie View A&M University (Addressed on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram), I decided to give a try and see how they are doing. After studying for a while, I went.



Let The Experience Begin!
Well, there is really nothing experiencing about going to a school cafeteria. I just paid $8.66 (tax included) and went in. More description below.



Let's Eat!
Well, what's being done here is incorporating cafeteria style food and buffet together. This means that you get food served, but you can make as many trips as possible. They also have a self-service salad bar. I got the following: Cheese pizza, spinach and ricotta pizza, pasta and zucchini with garlic bread, salad, roasted veggie and feta sandwich, and the halal item, chicken stir-fry with pineapple rice (weird name really). The food was promptly served.



Menu: http://univofhouston.campusdish.com/Commerce/Catalog/Menus.aspx?LocationId=6884
Each day's menu is listed. You just have to click on either Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner.



Chicken Stir-Fry with Pineapple Rice


The Verdict:
I did have some of the vegetarian items, which were featured on my Snapchat at halalreviewer. Now that they're gone, I might as well describe how it was. The spinach and ricotta cheese pizza, the pasta and zucchini and the roasted veggie and feta sandwich were horrible. They were served cold and barely have any taste. The salad was not that great, but better than the first two items that were listed. At first, the sight of seeing "pineapple rice" really confused me. But it turned out that it was just rice with pineapple flavoring. In fact, the pineapple rice and chicken stir-fry tasted OK. The garlic bread takes the cake for the best item. Overall, two thumbs down for the vegetarian items and one thumb sideways for the halal item.
Service was nothing to write home about. I just got the food and ate. Thankfully the people serving the food had no attitude problems.



Conclusion:
Before actually eating here, I heard that Moody can be hits and misses. Those people are absolutely correct. I hope one day UH Dining actually listens to the complaints students have about the food and fix the food situation. Till then, I would rather use my money to go somewhere off-campus or to go to McAlister's, Jimmy John's, Pink's Pizza, or Cafe 101 on-campus and eat vegetarian or seafood. Needless to say, the quality of the halal food could have some improvement, but thankfully it wasn't as bad as some of the vegetarian items.

Just to clear a misconception, I still review halal places. This place has a separate halal station along with the vegetarian items (it's like a cafeteria)


Grading:
I honestly forgot the exact grading of the vegetarian items, but I remember the average was roughly between 30% and 40%. Since I emphasize using the exact scores I give, the grading will be done solely on the halal item. I also think the feedback would be important to them, since I and a couple of my friends actually met with the UH dietitian and discussed about what should be done to meet the demand a significant number of students had for halal meat on-campus.

Service: 7/10
Food: 6/10
Total: 13/20 = 65% (D)  (Exact scores of the other items would've meant a drop in the overall grade to an F)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Fresh Foods Co at Moody Towers
Moody Towers, Univeristy of Houston, Houston, Texas
Phone: (832) 842-6095
Website: http://univofhouston.campusdish.com/Locations/FreshFoodCompany.aspx
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/uhdining?fref=ts
Timings: Mon-Thu: 7 AM - 12 AM; Fri: 7 AM - 10 PM; Sat-Sun: 8 AM - 10 PM
Caters: No (Separate catering by UH Dining; called Catering on Cullen)

Feel free to leave a comment below, message me on Facebook or Twitter, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Saturday, April 18, 2015

Zand's Persian Kababs- A Halal Restaurant in a Small Town

Restaurant: Zand's Persian Kababs
Address: 3105 South Texas Avenue, Bryan, Texas 77802
Buffet or a-la-carte: a-la-carte
Date of visit: 4/4/15



Photo Credit: https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/424007452204359680/gTCEiz2J.jpeg

Background: 
Salam/hey guys! I am back after a while. I have been busy preparing for a major engineering exam. Anyways, today I will be reviewing a Persian restaurant in a small college town: Zand's Persian Kebabs. Bryan/College station is home to Texas A&M University, which is a 75 mile drive from my house. I came to Bryan/College Station to participate in the MSA Showdown. This was an event I had been anticipating because MSAs from all over Texas (including Texas Tech, which is located all the way in Lubbock) gather and compete for bragging rights. I had watched the basketball event, and felt hungry. I hadn't eaten anything since morning, so I felt hungry. After watching a couple of the games, I head out to the restaurant. 



Let The Experience Begin.
Zand's is located a few blocks from the border of Bryan and College Station off Texas Avenue. It's located opposite a HEB and next to the Chef Cao. When I entered the restaurant, it was empty, even though it was 1 PM. It felt weird to be the only customer in the restaurant to be honest. The special menu was under the glass part of the table! After reading it, I was ready to order.



Let's Eat!

I ordered the lamb koobideh special. It was two skewers with rice and salad. I paid $10.83 (tax included). The waiting time was 10 minutes and 30 seconds.



Menu (click to view): The menu has basic Persian favorites like kababs and rice. The pricing is good though. The owner doesn't hesitate in saying that the place is halal. The prices were pretty decent.


Photo Credit: http://www.yelp.com/biz_photos/zands-persian-kebabs-bryan#uCUYdaIQFux9nlxlOi3UkQ



The Special Menu



The Lamb Koobideh Special
The Verdict:
So was it worth going there from A&M and paying for parking twice? The answer is yes. The lamb had taste and was very tender. The salad and the white sauce on the salad were delicious as well. The rice was fresh. The food was washed down by a nice glass of water. Overall, two thumbs up.
The service was standard, nothing good nor bad. I just ordered, got the food, paid, and then drove back to A&M.



Conclusion:
If you come to A&M and want some halal food, then this place is a wonderful option for you. You will definitely enjoy eating the food here. I hope to try the other places in Bryan/College Station, then decide which restaurant is the best in the area.



Grading:
Service: 8/10
Food: 9/10
Total: 17/20 = 85% (B)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Zand's Persian Kabobs
3105 South Texas Avenue, Bryan, Texas 77802
Phone: (979) 822-4444
Website: none
Facebook: none
Timings: Mon-Sat: 11 AM - 10 PM; Sun closed
Caters: Yes

Feel free to comment below, message me on Facebook or Twitter, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed



Sunday, April 5, 2015

Hunan Chef- The Largest Buffet I have Ever Been to

Restaurant: Hunan Chef
Address: 2310 Highway 6 South, Houston, Texas 77077
Buffet or a-la-carte: a-la-carte
Date of visit: 3/17/15



Background:
Salam/hey guys! I hope you guys had a wonderful and safe Spring Break! Today I will be reviewing a Chinese place that has switched to halal: Hunan Chef. Unlike TG's Cravings, I found out about this place from zabihah.com. What caught my attention was that it mentioned that there were 60+ items on the buffet. This is by far the biggest halal buffet that I have ever seen. The previous record was 30 at a restaurant near Kayseri, Turkey back in 2012. I got the chance to go when my friend just suddenly told me to get ready. After praying, we headed to the restaurant.



Let The Experience Begin!
Hunan Chef is located near highway 6 and Westheimer. There is a very large and bright sign that says "Hunan Chef". Inside, it was packed! It was filled with families and people who came with their friends. We were immediately assisted to the tables, where I ran into other good friends of mine who came with their family. After being asked what to drink, it was time to get the party started!



Let's Eat!
Well, I obviously went for the buffet. The description for the buffet is below. I paid $13, which is slightly cheaper than Jamillah but with so much variety.



Menu: http://www.greathunanchef.com/menu.php
There are popular Chinese items such as Kung Pao Chicken and rice for their takeout menu, but the buffet is HUGE! You have literally everything. You have all sorts of popular Chinese beef and chicken places, different types of rice and noodles, and appetizers. You have seafood items such as tilapia, shrimp, and even oysters! You even have crawfish, sushi, ice cream, and PIZZA! It seemed like we were in some luxury place because there were so many items to choose from for a lot less the price!


Left: vegetarian lo mein, oyster, kung pao chicken, chicken balls on a stick, beans and beef, chicken egg roll, and chicken dumpling. Right: Chicken teriyaki, chicken fried rice, sushi, chicken egg roll, chicken on a stick, crawfish, sesame chicken, and baked potato



The Verdict:
Chinese buffets are often regarded to be horrible. This, however, is an exception. The food tasted great! I mean everything tasted wonderful! The food was of good quality. I drank a glass of Pepsi while chatting with my friends.
The service as good too. The people were nice, and were helpful. The owner was very confident that all the meat that was served was halal.



Conclusion:
60+ items in a buffet for less than $15? I'm so down to try it! I guess I'll come here more often considering that the nearest Chinese halal Chinese place has fewer options for a lot less the price, and lesser quality.



Grading:
Service: 9/10
Food: 9/10
Total: 18/20 = 90%
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Hunan Chef
2310 South Highway 6 South, Houston, Texas 77077
Phone: (281) 597-9888
Website: none (they are making a new website; the old one is no longer used for the restaurant)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Great-Hunan-Chef/676110159182277?fref=ts
Timings: Mon-Sun: 11 AM - 9:30 PM
Caters: Yes

Feel free to comment below, send me a message on Facebook and Twitter, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Sunday, March 22, 2015

TG's Cravings- A New Halal Burger Place In Sugar Land

Restaurant: TG's Cravings
Address: 16338 Kensington Drive, Sugar Land, Texas 77479
Buffet or a-la-carte: A-la-carte
Date of visit: 3/14/15



Photo Credit: http://s3-media2.fl.yelpcdn.com/bphoto/-GDuHiqy8fkWCTyeDr8FxA/ls.jpg


Background:
Salam/hey guys! Hope you all are having a wonderful Spring Break! Today I will be reviewing a new American/Tex-Mex restaurant that opened up in Sugar Land. I first heard about this place from a Muslim Group on Facebook. It was a great feeling because for once there was a new place that had steak and Tex-Mex options. The people that were actually setting up the business had to continuously confirm their halal status, because certain people on that group would not stop worrying about whether the food was halal, even though the person clearly said that it was going to be zabiha halal. Another issue was that it was all the way in Sugar Land. It was far from where I lived (Cypress) and UH. Everything other people said about this place was nothing but praise. Some have raved about how high quality their food is, and how they would make this their go-to place. The time came to try when I went paintballing with my friends at Brookshire in Waller County. We had just gotten off from college since it was Spring Break. All of us had eagerly wanted to try the place out. Heck, one of my good friends wanted to come as well even though he didn't come to paintball. The drive there was very long. We had to go through nearly all of Fort Bend County just to reach Sugar Land. To make matters worse, we had to take a detour in Fulshear, which added on even more time. We were completely covered in paint and mud, since the majority of the time we had to walk through an area that was completely saturated and full of mud. It was so bad that I nearly slipped plenty of times, and we only got to play two games of 5 minutes even after paying $30 just to paintball. While walking, the water/mud mixture had nearly reached my knees. We then decided to take a break at Maryam Masjid, pray, change our clothes, and then head to the restaurant. What was supposed to be a 45 minute ride turned out to be a 90 minute ride.



Let The Experience Begin!
TG's Cravings is located at the very end of Kensington Drive. From the place, you can see Patel Brothers and the Sugar Land location of Tempura. The ambiance was really nice. There were tables and chairs for both kids and adults. The Cricket World Cup was playing on the TV. They had just finished their soft opening a few weeks ago before we came here, so it was busy with people trying to adjust before they do their grand opening and make their way up the already large and competitive halal food scene in the Houston area. It was definitely packed, as EVERYONE was really excited about this place opening up. The really nice waiter got my group a table, and we had waited for our other friend to come.



Let's Eat!
We were then handed out menus. Unfortunately, the other friend came much later than me and my other friend, so we couldn't make our final orders. While we were waiting, we ordered buffalo wings that were on sale for $3.99+ tax. To drink, I got a Coke while he got water. Once the other friend arrived, we finally got the entrees ordered. My friend and I ordered the Mamu burger, which is basically a burger stuffed with cheddar cheese and topped with American cheese, mayo, ketchup, and mustard. The only differences is that I got the beef bacon add-on (yes there are places in town with halal turkey and beef bacon), while he made it super spicy. My other friend, who is obsessed about being buff, just ordered a chicken quesadilla. We split the bill, and I eventually paid $17.67 (tax included) The waiting time was really long: 5 minutes for the wings, and 27 minutes for the entrees. For every other person with me, I add 5 minutes to the maximum tolerance waiting time of 20 minutes. Since they are still trying to adjust, I will not deduct points based on how long it took for the food to come out.



Menu (click to view):  Absolutely impressive. They have so many varieties of burgers. And I can bet you that one day, I will attempt the tower burger challenge and succeed in it. I hope to avenge the two failures I had with the 2 lb burger from Famous Hamburger in Dearborn back in 2013. I like the idea of having loaded fries and nachos, as I am a huge fan of chili cheese fries dating back to the days I used to eat at M&M Grill. Steak fries is basically another name for the regular french fries. They are also another restaurant with steak. What I really like is that there is a steak option FOR UNDER $20!! This is only the second time I have ever seen a halal restaurant have a legitimate cut of steak under $20. The last time was the lunch special at Bonsai, where you get two meats for $14 and 3 meats for $17. Even the steaks are under $20 individually at lunch time, but not at dinner. The last time I had tried steak at a new halal place was at Winetopia (now closed), I had to pay $25.96, despite the website saying that it was much cheaper. After that, I made a promise to myself to never go back unless I either had a lot of money or for a special occasion. The burgers are decently priced. They are also the first place to legitimately have halal non-Desi breakfast options on their menu. M&M Grill had breakfast options for a few months back in 2013, but it was discontinued after a run of few months. Most of the halal breakfasts in Houston consists of Halwa Puri (deep fried Indian bread with chickpeas curry and halwa) served as brunch on weekends at many of the Desi restaurants. Believe it or not, I have never in my entire lifetime had an omelette with meat. I used to always hope that one day I would actually have an omelette with meat inside, just like how they would do at IHOP or Denny's. Their Tex-Mex is standard. They sell popular Tex-Mex food like burritos, tacos, and quesadillas. I sure hope that their fajita platter would come in a sizzler. The only issue I have on the menu is the price of the Philly Cheesesteak. Let's be honest, Paying $12.99+ tax for a Philly cheesesteak for a Philly Chicken is just flat-out RIDICULOUS. Their kids meal is decently priced though. Now you would expect these things to be done by non-Desi people right? WRONG! This place is owned by Desi people! It is very nice to see Desi people starting to serve American favorites here in Houston






Menu Page 1: (both pics taken from their Facebook page)

Menu Page 2

Top: Mamu burger with beef bacon. Comes with curly fries. Bottom left: Buffalo wings. Bottom right: Chicken quesadilla


The Verdict:
The wings were very good. It was very nice and tender. The wings came in a pack of 6, so all of us were able to eat it. The sauce was not overpowering. My friend tried the quesadilla and really liked it. Parts of the burger patty were somewhat overcooked. In the picture, you can see that a lot of the patty is covered in black. But, the parts that weren't overcooked tasted great. The beef bacon was nice and crispy. The curly fries tasted wonderful as well.
The service was good, but could have some improvements. The good part was that the owner himself actually came to us and asked how the food is, and he even allowed us to give suggestions on how to improve. I have NEVER seen a Desi owner be open to constructive criticism, and accept the fact that improvements should be made until now. It clearly indicates that he wants the restaurant to be ready for the grand opening and that he wants the restaurant to succeed. Sadly, many people know about how rash Desi restaurant owners usually are. Customer service is usually close to none at many Desi restaurants. This is definitely a step in the right direction. I honestly hope that one day other Desi restaurants would follow suit. There are still things that they can improve on. First, they should remember in the future to put any add-ons a customer requests. My mamu burger was served to me, but I had to give it back to the waiter because they forgot to put the beef bacon on it. Also, while paying for the bill, they had charged us the full price for the wings, even though the waiter said that they were on sale for $3.99+tax.



Conclusion:
I will be nice and come back and try the different items, since they are still trying to get everything to click. The menu looks like the sort where I would try everything from this place. I will have higher expectations for the service after the grand opening occurs. But for now, I hope their business succeeds.



Grading:
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 8/10
Total: 15.5/20 = 77.5% (C)
Pricing: $$$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
TG's Cravings
16338 Kensington Drive, Sugar Land, Texas 77479
Phone: (832) 500-3660
Website (currently under construction):http://www.tgscravings.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/TGs-Cravings/1376000619385526
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tgscravings
Timings: Tue: closed; Sun-Mon & Wed-Thu: 11 AM - 10 PM; Fri-Sat: 11 AM - Midnight
Caters: Not yet

Feel free to comment below, message me on Facebook, tweet me, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed


Friday, March 20, 2015

Zamani Mediterranean Grill- Some Good Halal Food in the Northside

Restaurant: Zamani Mediterranean Grill
Address: 9441 Louetta Road, Spring, Texas 77379
Buffet or a-la-carte: A-la-carte
Date of visit: 3/7/15



Background:
Salam/hey guys! After being sick and having a major exam, I am back! Today I will be reviewing a known Mediterranean place: Zamani's. I got to go here as I was driving to the dealership to get my car serviced. I have heard many good things about this place. I heard that their shawarmas were the best in the north side of town, and that they have good plates as well.



Let The Experience Begin!
Zamani's is located in the strip mall at the interection of Louetta and Old Louetta. Just a few blocks down Louetta, is Champions masjid (Masjid Al-Salam). Attached to the restaurant is a grocery store. There is no separate entrance to the restaurant. Inside you have all the menu items displayed. After looking at it, I was ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered the beef/lamb shawarma. There were two shawarma style rotisseries that are visible. I paid a total of $7.03 (tax related). The waiting time was very quick at 3 minutes and 23 seconds.



Menu (click to view): The menu consisted of various Mediterranean favorites like shawarma and kababs. The prices were great! They do have a website with the menu, but they didn't update the menu prices.



Sandwich Box Combo, Grilled Kabobs, and Kids Menu


Sandwiches, Salads, Sides, and other favorites


Plates and family dinners


The Chicken Shawarma (I got it for takeout as I had to go to the dealership)


The Verdict:
I have heard nothing but praise for this restaurant from other people, and those people were right. The shawarma was great! For some reason, they give you boxes of garlic sauce and spicy sauce. Since I really love garlic sauce, I decided to use it by dipping the shawarma inside the garlic sauce. I drank some Coke after getting to the dealership. Overall, two thumbs up.
The service was normal like any other restaurant. I just got the food and left.



Conclusion:
Considering that the vast majority of shawarma places in Houston are south of I-10, Zamani is a very nice place for you to have some nice Arab food. It is located very close to Champions Masjid. I would come back and try their different items.



Grading:
Service: 8/10
Food: 8.5/10
Total: 16.5/20 = 82.5% (B)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Zamani Mediterranean Grill
9441 Louetta Road, Spring, Texas 77379
Phone: (281) 251-9111
Website: http://www.zamanigrill.com/
Facebook: none
Timings: Sun-Thu: 10:30 AM - 9 PM; Fri & Sat: 10:30 AM - 10 PM
Caters: Yes

Feel free to comment below, message me on Facebook, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Sunday, March 8, 2015

Shawarma House- Gas Station Food Again!

Restaurant: Shawarma House
Address: Shell Gas Station at the intersection of Almeda and North McGregor Street, Houston, Texas
Buffet or a-la-carte: A-la-carte
Date of visit: 1/23/14



Salam/hey guys! I haven't been able to write the review earlier since I have been sick and had relatives come over from Dallas. Today I will be writing about a new Shawarma place in town: Shawarma House. I first heard about this place from zabihah.com. They had sent me an email telling me about this restaurant opening up. I thought "Oh cool, another halal place near UH and on Almeda Road". After finishing my first class, it was off to the place.



Let The Experience Begin!
Shawarma House is located inside the Shell gas station at the intersection of North McGregor and Almeda. Going in, there was no one at the counter. After a while, a lady came up and took my order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered a simple beef shawarma. I wanted to go light because I wanted to go to Tout Suite for some dessert. To drink, I had nothing because I already had water with me. I paid $7.57 (tax included) for the shawarma. Overall, the waiting time was 5 minutes and 3 seconds.



Menu: Despite the name "Shawarma House", this place also has other items such as gyros, chicken wings, burgers, falafel, and kabobs. The price is very good, with everything under $10 (without tax). Since this is a gas station, you can buy other things such as soda, candy, sweets, and other convenient items.

Menu (click to zoom)


The Shawarma


The Verdict:
Overall, the shawarma was pretty flavorful. It did drip however, and it left a nasty stain on my jacket. It felt great to have a good shawarma place near campus, as many places that serve shawarma have shisha ( I am allergic to them). Food was washed down with a bottle of water I had.
The service was nothing to write home about. I just got the shawarma and left.



The Verdict:
If you are near UH, need gas, and feel hungry, then this place would be great for you. I hope to make more trips here.



Grading:
Service: 8/10
Food: 8.5/10
Total: 16.5 = 82.5% (B)
Pricing: $ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Shawarma House
Shell Gas Station at the intersection of Almeda and North McGregor Street, Houston, Texas
Phone: (713) 528-0830
Website: none
Facebook: none
Timings: Mon-Sun: 10 AM - 8 PM
Caters: no

Feel free to comment below, send me a message on Facebook, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed