Thursday, May 26, 2016

Larosh Grill- A halal Pakistani place in northern Katy

Restaurant: Larosh Grill
Address: 18855 West Little York Road, Katy, Texas 77449
Buffet or a-la-carte: a-la-carte
Date of visit: 4/27/2016



Background:
Salam/hey guys! After nearly a month of absence, I am back food blogging! The reasons for the long absence are: school and restriction from parents. School got really busy as finals were around the corner. I had to concentrate on that as I was really worried about not getting straight As (Alhamdulilah I ended up getting them). This was the last cash that I would have for a while, since I was discouraged from having it on me. Nevertheless, I was able to eat at some places, but not new ones because the new restaurants that opened up this year are really far away (i.e. Sugar Land, Southwest and Northeast Harris county). Very few openings occurred in Northern Harris County these past few months. Most of the reviews this year, with the exception of Nyam Nyam, Garbanzo, and Uyghur Bistro, have been of places that were open for at least 11 months. It is honestly hard to believe that I have tried nearly half of the halal restaurants in Houston for the past 3 years. There were a couple of Ls I took. The prime L I took was Torchy's Tacos having halal lamb for a limited period. I know for sure that there are some places that I have in mind to try either during Ramadan or after Ramadan. I also hope to try a few places in Atlanta, Austin, Chicago, Dallas (unless we go to places that I've been to before), and Kansas City. Chicago, Dallas, and Austin are confirmed, and I hope the other cities would be confirmed as well.

Anyways, the last review before the hiatus was of Larosh Grill. Larosh is the newest Pakistani restaurant in Katy. Now why was I particular about trying this place? Well. it was to determine whether it would be worth convincing my parents to consider getting takeout here instead of Khan BBQ. For the past 7 years, Khan BBQ has been the only place that my parents would get takeout from. In fact, we gt it so often that my dad has experimented with different items. Long before I started this blog, my dad would get the chicken karahi (too oily and needed salt), daal (nothing compared to Al Markaz in Dallas), biryani (bland), and naan (one of two acceptable things). It used to be based on what my mom and sister wanted ONLY. We have even called them from as far as Hobby Airport, and also Brazos Bend State Park. There have been some really irritating moments that I can remember. I remember once at my mosque, I got a few boxes of biryani from another Pakistani place, but my dad got one box of biryani specifically from them (which made absolutely no sense at all). Another instance I remember was when my dad decided to "surprise" me with food, which turned out to be their mediocre biryani. He would often boast about their biryani, as if he was paid to advertise their food wherever he would go. When we had no food on Mondays, my mom fried eggs. I would just think "Instead of wasting your paycheck at that place, why not make fried eggs on other days as well". Finally, it turned out that they went there on my birthday while I was at D'Marcos enjoying delicious deep dish pizza. It pretty much tells about their preferences and further proves the fact that most of my trips are much better when I go by myself or with friends. This was cemented when they actually did not honor my request FOR MY BIRTHDAY DINNER to go to either Sayad or Mai Colachi (we had relatives over and some were very picky), a place that's actually suitable for special occasions. We ended up at Jamillah, which turned out that it was PLANNED TWO WEEKS BEFORE MY BIRTHDAY. To be fair, the same ordeal happened to my sister where she wanted Bonefish, yet ended up at Saravanaa Bhavan. The major difference is that Saravanaa Bhavan is one of her favorite places, while Jamillah was mediocre, enough for me to deduct their overall food score.

Now regarding Khan BBQ, my sister also plays a major role into why we hardly get takeout from the other 280+ and 20 nearest halal places to my house. One mention of "chappli kabab" or "Chargha" and I would be told to get it. Yet, if I say "I want pizza" (i.e. Home Base, which actually has tasty food and is much closer to my house), they bring up the no-going-out card or "it's too fat card". One mention of grilled chicken teriyaki from Bonsai and I would be expecting a major yelling. Frankly, it is completely hypocritical to immediately reject my request for the reasons above yet let my sister get her choice. It is illogical to say no to shish tawook (which is LITERALLY grilled chicken Arab style), Jujeh (grilled chicken Persian style) or even boti (grilled chicken cubes Indian/Pakistani) from somewhere like Bundu Khan WHEN CHARGHA IS FREAKING DEEP FRIED AND NOT GRILLED. And they claim that chargha is healthy when it is much worse than grill chicken since it's deep fried.

Now Larosh opened in late 2015, replacing Tikka Boti (never tried it as I read somewhere that the owners made their 7 and 8 year old children work as waiters, and I refuse to give my business to anyone who make little children work). I had been eager to wanting to try that place. I did get one chance with their malai boti, and it was pretty good. Now hopefully after this second trip, I would try to go again and then make my case for changing the main takeout from Khan BBQ to Larosh.



Let The Experience Begin!
Larosh is located next to The Cave Hookah Lounge. Inside, the decorations were pretty nice, and the place was clean. It was however, completely dead inside. I was only one of two people inside, and I was the only one who was dining in. It was a really awkward feeling to be honest. The counter was in the front, and there were pamphlets which had lunch specials. And lo and behold, the curries had free stuff with them. This is something extremely rare, but it should be mandatory because not every single person would want to pay extra for naan or rice, not every single person wants to sample all the curries, and not every single person wants to eat a large amount of curry, biryani, or tikka. If Arab, Turkish, Persian, or even Chinese places give free rice with your entree, why can't Indian or Pakistani places start doing the same thing and making it fair for the customer? Anyways, after the gentleman placed his to-go order, I was ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered chicken biryani. I figured that it would be one thing to try so that I could convince them to change their minds, since they're obsessed with Khan BBQ's version. The price? $7.57 (tax included)! So far so good. The waiting time was 12 minutes, much better than me having to wait for an hour for a few naans. I literally just sat on my phone the entire time.
One thing that threw me off was that at the table I sat in, one of the plates was dirty. There were some stains on the plates. I didn't want to take a pic because I was disgusted by it. But the plate next to me was clean.



Menu: http://laroshgrill.com/#menu

Besides the lunch specials, the Larosh menu is generic. You have popular generic items such as biryani, tikka, chicken karahi, and naan. They even have some items such as sandwiches and burgers, both Pakistani style and non-Pakistani style.


The Chicken Biryani


The Verdict:
The biryani came with raita and "salad" which turned out to be onions, bell peppers and carrots. Now the taste was very weird. It looked good when it came to the table. However, it seemed like lemon juice was added to the biryani, because the smell of lemon was dominating. This smell would likely indicate that this is chicken Sindhi Biryani, a type biryani that is said to be originated in the Pakistani province of Sindh. Taste-wise, it was just OK. Nothing to brag about really.
Service wasn't that bad either. The person was normal. Nothing to complain about.



Conclusion:
The biryani was OK, but not enough for me to convince my parents to change their takeout preference. What a bummer. If you are looking for the best Pakistani food or biryani in town, then I suggest you look somewhere else as this lies in the middle of the huge list. The next time I would try this place is if it were to cater to another event, or if I decide to make another visit if I feel like trying to once again convince my parents to get takeout from here instead of Khan BBQ.



Grading:
Service: 8/10
Food: 6.5/10
Total: 14.5/20 = 72.5% (C)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Larosh Grill
18855 West Little York Road, Katy, Texas 77449
Phone: (281) 861-4612
Website: http://laroshgrill.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LaroshGrill/
Timings:

Tuesday: closed
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Sunday: 11 AM - 9 PM
Friday and Saturday: 11 AM - 10 PM

Caters: yes

Feel free to comment below, send me a message on Facebook, or send me an email

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Saturday, April 30, 2016

BIG ANNOUCEMENT:

Salam/hey guys! I am pleased to announce that my mosque (Masjid Al Mustafa at 17250 Coventry Park Drive in Houston, TX) is hosting a carnival and a Halal BBQ Cook-off!

What is a BBQ Cook off? A BBQ Cook off is when people compete for the best BBQ in a competition setting. There are a wide variety of BBQ that exists all over the world. There is Texan BBQ, Desi (Indian/Pakistani BBQ), Arab BBQ, etc. This is the first time ever that a halal BBQ cook off is happening in the city. There are already major BBQ cook offs that take place in Houston, but there is a lot of pork that is used in those cook offs. I hope you guys can make it!

Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill- A Healthy, Halal Mediterranean Version of Chipotle

Restaurant: Garbanzo Mediterranean
Address: 947 Gessner Road, Houston, Texas 77024
Buffet or a-la-carte: neither
Date of visit: 4/9/16


Background:
Salam/hey guys! Welcome to my latest review of Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill! Today I will be giving you guys a walkthrough of the restaurant, and give you an idea of how the food tastes. Garbanzo Mediterranean is a Halal Mediterranean version of Chipotle. You get to pick a meat, and unlimited number of sides, just like chipotle. Like Chipotle, you go through a line with the person helping you out on what items you have. The obvious difference is that Garbanzo actually has halal options unlike Chipotle. Garbanzo also has locations in San Antonio, Atlanta, Denver, Colorado Springs, Ft. Collins, Phoenix, and Los Angeles. I got to go after I had finished an event and before I had to head to UH. After going through traffic, I arrived at the place.



Let The Experience Begin!
Garbanzo is located off I-10 in the same area as Kuu restaurant in the Memorial Hermann Memorial City complex. The inside looks really nice, but I was literally the only person inside the restaurant. Without hesitation, I was ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered the sirloin steak plate. For the sides, I got rice, salad, vegetables, garlic sauce, and feta cheese. It came with free bread. All of that food for just $9.30 (tax included). Really good value and a generous portion.



Menu: only their chicken and steak are halal. But everything is under $10 if you don't get anything to drink. You also have the option of pita, gyro (not sure if you can put any meat in the gyro), salad, and wrap. Regarding the meats and veggies, you also have chicken (either chopped up or in a skewer), a steak skewer, portobello mushrooms, falafel, and gyro meat (again, not halal). What I don't like is that bottled water is $1.99.



The plate


The Verdict:
The food was decent. I actually found it to be better than some of the Mediterranean places that I've been to in my lifetime, but not as good as other Mediterranean places. The presentation looks good. Every part of the plate has each item, and the sauce is on the top. I'm sure that you could ask them for garlic sauce on the side. The person helping me in the front is friendly.



Conclusion:
I wouldn't mind coming here again and trying out the chicken items and the other sides. Just two suggestions: get white pita and also have a free cup of water. If other places can do it, why can't they?



Grading:
Service: 7/10
Food: 7.5/10
Total: 14.5/20 = 72.5% (C)
Pricing: $ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill
947 Gessner Road, Houston, Texas 77024
(832) 804-9616
Website: http://eatgarbanzo.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GarbanzoMedFresh/?fref=ts&ref=br_tf
Timings: Mon-Sun: 11 AM - 9 PM
Caters: Yes

Feel free to comment below, send me an email, or message me on Facebook!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed


Monday, April 11, 2016

Nyam Nyam Cafe- Halal Savory Crepes Have Arrived in Houston

Restaurant: Nyam Nyam Cafe
Address: 15201 Mason Road, Cypress, Texas 77433
Buffet or a-la-carte: A-la-carte:
Date of Visit: 4/6/16



Background:
Salam/hey guys! Welcome to my latest review. Today, I will be writing up about my trip to a place that has unique halal options. The place is called Nyam Nyam Cafe. Pretty weird name for a place that serves halal options right? Nyam Nyam Cafe is a place that has kebabs, pirozhki, a baked/fried bun stuffed with a variety of toppings, and crepes. Crepes and pirozhki both come in either sweet (dessert items), and savory (meat, vegetables, cheese, etc.) versions. I've always enjoyed eating a Nutella crepe. In fact, Cafe Pita has a nutella crepe, and I really liked it. But what I really wanted to try was a halal savory crepe. Ironically, I loved the crepe, but I strongly dislike the Indian crepe, dosa. I always found the dosa (which is always savory) to be extremely sour to my liking. My desire to try a halal savory crepe started all the way back in 2014 when I had asked Coco's Crepes about their merguez (sausage from North Africa) being halal. They had responded by saying no. I was shocked (no joke). I found it very ironic how something from a Muslim majority region would not be halal. Even on their website, they stated "Merguez Moroccan Sausage". I honestly wonder where they get their merguez since it isn't halal. The desire accelerated when I had gone to Sweet Paris in at CityCentre and got the feast crepe (eggs, cheese, and vegetables) and the Nutella crepe. They have actually been open for a while, but I never got the opportunity to try it, despite it being only 15 minutes from Prairie View and my house. The desire to try it ASAP died down, until I saw another food blogger talking about that place and how amazing it was on Snapchat (my Snapchat is halal_reviewer). I then realized that I had enough money to spend for the month of April. It was important that I had enough money in April because later in the month, I'm gonna treat one of my best friends for his birthday. After my class had ended, I was ready to go.



Let The Experience Begin!
Nyam Nyam Cafe is located just after the Cypresswood intersection in the same strip mall as Sunrise Cafe, Subway, and Pizza Hut. The inside was really nice, and you could see your crepes being made. The restaurant was completely packed, so packed that I sat on the stool instead of the table. When I was recording using snapchat, I had to make sure that I was't focusing on one person. The friendly owner greeted me, and I confirmed that they had halal lamb (which was the main reason why I had wanted to go here). I was then ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered the Mediterranean lamb crepe. I got a few vegetables to add on with the crepe. The crepe came with a yogurt based sauce and feta cheese. I paid $14.06 (tax included). While waiting, I talked to the owner. It was then that I realized that their chicken was also halal, but not the beef and duck. The same thing was applicable the pirozhkis. Everything is also cooked in a clean pan.



Menu: http://www.nyamnyamcafe.com/
The reason I put the website is because if you click "menu" it will scroll down on the website to where the menu is. Anyways, the menu was great and there were a good variety of crepes. They even have a crepe with red caviar. Red caviar is actually a Russian delicacy. It's eggs from salmon. It's actually more affordable than beluga or sturgeon caviar. They also have the sweet crepes that are commonly enjoyed by menu. The pirozhkis seem to be delicious. One important thing that they have is a breakfast crepe, where you can put the halal chicken in it instead of sausages! You can have that with a variety of coffees and teas, Finally, they have the traditional Russian soup called borscht, which has beets and cabbage.




The Crepe Topped with feta cheese and the sauce on the side

The Verdict:
To make it short and simple: Fantastic! Easily the best meal of the year so far for me among new restaurants! I found this to be as good as Sweet Paris. Everything was fresh and full of flavor. The wait was definitely worth it. Even the sauce went well with the crepe. The food was pretty filling too. I didn't drink anything as I didn't have enough money to spend on a drink. Overall, two thumbs up!
The service was wonderful. The owner and the workers were extremely nice. They looked like they loved their jobs and loved to make food for their customers.



Conclusion:
If you want to eat at a place that's halal and near the Premium Outlets off 290, or if you ever want to try a halal savory crepe, then this is your go to place. I'll definitely be making more trips here, and I hope they will keep the halal options.




Grading:
Service: 10/10
Food: 10/10 (First in a long time)
Total: 20/20 = 100% (A)
Pricing: $ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Nyam Nyam Cafe
15201 Mason Road, Cypress, Texas 77433
Phone: (832) 653-5900
Website: http://www.nyamnyamcafe.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NyamNyamCafeTX

Timings:
Mon- Closed
Tue-Thu: 8 AM - 8 PM
Fri-Sat: 8 AM - 9 PM
Sun: 8 AM - 3 PM

Caters: yes

Feel free to comment below, send me an email, or send me a message on Facebook!
Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Olivit: A full Service Arab Restaurant in the heart of Klein

Restaurant: Olivit
Address: 7316 Louetta Road, Spring, Texas (Opposite Klein High School)
Buffet or a-la-carte: a-la-carte
Date of visit: 3/24/16



Background:
Salam/hey guys! Today I will be writing my review about a place that I had wanted to go to for a while. The place is called Olivit. I first heard about this place from my friend who attends the same masjid as me, all the way back in the summer of last year. I was actually surprised that there was another Arab place in the northside because there was already Zamani and Kababi Zaytoon, two already known Arab places in the northside. I had been wanting to go since the end of last Ramadan, but I had to push back the trip because something or the other would come up, thus forcing me to either go somewhere else or don't go and review a place at all. The time came for me to try came that Thursday. I had no class until 3:30 PM that day. So I decided to go there from Cypress to finally try it out.
Based on the other reviews that I had read, Olivit seemed to be a really good place that had some good Arab food. I heard nothing but praise for that place. I didn't even know that it had existed until my friend had told me about it.



Let The Experience Begin!
Olivit is located directly across Klein High School, next to the Jimmy John's. I think I was the first customer there that day (I went at 11 AM). The inside was very nice. It was very nicely decorated. There was a TV on one side of the restaurant, and there was Arab music playing throughout the restaurant. A guy came and helped me and gave the menu. After reading it a bit, I was ready to order.



Let's Eat!
I ordered the mix grill lunch special. I got the zenga soup, which was recommended by my friend as the other item. I'm just really thankful that like other Arab places, Olivit gives free bread (Indian/Pakistani places need to do this). I paid a total of $11.90 (tax included). The waiting time was 12 minutes and 34 seconds.



Menu: http://www.olivitgrill.com/
The reason I posted the website is because if you click on it, you have to click on either "LUNCH MENU" or "DINNER MENU". The menus have the usual kebabs, sandwiches, shawarmas, and combos, alongside some items like Dawood Basha (Syrian meatballs), and Quallaya (sauteed dish) that you rarely see at an Arab restaurant. You even have pastas and salads. Now regarding the dinner items, the entrees are more pricey than Sayad! That's because they give more than one skewer. But in their platters, it's one skewer of either a combo of two kababs or one whole skewer of a specific kabab, and it's slightly less pricier than Sayad. Finally like Sayad, they have a chicken tikka kabab, which I wonder why. Based on the menu description, my guess would be that it's like an Arab version of chicken tikka masala (someone who is familiar with it please help me out in the comments :) )



The bread


The Mix Grill


Zenga Soup


The Verdict:
I got the zenga first, and boy it was wonderful! This is now one of my favorite soups to have, alongside the Turkish lentil soup. The soup came very fresh and was packed with a lot of flavor. Everything was cooked perfectly. The mix grill had some hits and misses however. When I got it, I noticed how stingy they were when it came when it came to the meat. Other places would give an individual skewer of each kabab. I was really disappointed in the presentation of the plate. The mix grill came with grilled vegetables, tahini sauce and garlic sauce. The chicken could have been better to be honest. It wasn't really that tasty. The kafta kabab was absolutely delicious. It had a huge amount of flavors. The food was washed down with a glass of water.
Service was OK. The waiter was moody however, but not to the point of being downright condescending or rude for me to take a lot of points off (he didn't shout, make snide remarks, or take away my food).



Conclusion:
Overall, Olivit is a decent find in the northside area. I'll definitely be getting the zenga soup and the kafta kabab. I'll also won't mind trying the chicken tikka and seeing how it's different than the Indian chicken tikka masala. A couple of suggestions that I would have for the restaurant would be to 
put some more meat in the mix grill, and to cheer up when serving customers.



Grading: 
Service: 7/10
Food: 7.5/10
Total: 14.5/20 = 72.5% (C)
Pricing: $$$ out of $$$$ 



Restaurant Information:
Olivit
7316 Louetta Road, Spring, Texas
Phone: (281) 257-4445
Website: http://www.olivitgrill.com/
Timings: Mon-Sun 11 AM - 10 PM; Lunch Mon-Fri: 11 AM - 3 PM
Caters: Yes

Feel free to comment below, send me a message on Facebook, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed


Monday, March 28, 2016

Napoli Express Pizza - A pizza place with some halal Italian dishes

Restaurant: Napoli Express Pizza
Address: 10145 South Highway 6, Sugar Land, Texas
Buffet or a-la-carte: A-la-carte
Date of visit: 3/17/16



Photo Credit: http://media.merchantcircle.com/36630663/9b372ffc-fda5-42c6-ac7d-76cf8d5b3f9b_medium.jpeg


Background:
Salam/hey guys! Welcome to my latest review. Today I will be reviewing yet another Italian restaurant: Napoli Express Pizza. Napoli Express Pizza is located in the parking lot of a Chevron Gas Station at the intersection of Highway 6 and Old Richmond Road. I was in Sugar Land as I was participating in making the short film with my friends for the MSA Showdown competition that is taking place in Arlington this coming weekend (not going sadly). We had taken a little break after we had spent the day filming and acting. So we decided to come here at the recommendation of our friend. It was also convenient because it was only 10 minutes from his house. So after we edited the scene, we went to the restaurant.



Let The Experience Begin
There were plenty of tables to eat inside. We got a table next to the door. The ambiance was nice and bright. The menu was there for us to see. After reading the menu, we were ready to order.



Let's Eat!
My friend ordered the beef lasagna, and I ordered the cheese ravioli with the halal meat sauce. Both came with free salad and garlic breadTo drink, my friend has a Sprite and I had a Pepsi. I paid between $11 and $12 (tax included). The waiting time for the lasagna was at 13 minutes, while my ravioli took more than double the time. The official time was 27 minutes and 3 seconds. This beats Darband as the place that I have endured the longest wait for my food. The funny thing is that it's even longer than the time it takes for Saravanaa Bhavan to give my food after the rest of my family gets it. I talked to my friend at the table and tried contacting my other friend to meet us at the restaurant so that we could go and finish the final scene.



Menu: http://www.napoliexpresspizza.com/menu.html
They have a separate halal menu. The great part is that the halal menu availability is very similar to the availability at Russo's on Kirby. You must mention halal at the counter. And when ordering pasta, make sure you tell them to not put alcohol in the pasta just to be safe. If you want, you can ask them to put marinara sauce or the meat sauce. They don't, however, have pizza by the slice.



Clockwise from top right: Cheese Ravioli with Meat Sauce, Lasagna, Garlic Bread, and House Salad


The Verdict:
The ravioli was tasty, and so was the sample of the lasagna that I had. Both my friend and I really liked the food that we had ordered. The meat sauce had a lot of flavor and the texture was perfect. The ravioli was fresh and the cheese inside it was so good. The only blemish was the salad, which was just ok. Overall, two thumbs up for the main courses and one side thumb for the salad.
The service was good. The lady at the counter was really nice. She had apologized for the delay in my food coming out.



Conclusion:
Want a place that has a variety of halal pastas? Then this is your best bet if you live in Sugar Land or anywhere west of the Tollway. This is big as most of the halal Italian places have a limited number of halal pastas available. And most importantly, the food tastes good. In my next trip, I will try the pizza that they have to offer. 



Grading:
Service: 7.3/10 (.7 points off because time exceeded 20 minute limit. Extra minute late = .1 points off)
Food: 8.5/10
Total: 15.8/20 = 79% (C)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information: 
Napoli Express Pizza
10145 South Highway 6, Sugar Land, Texas
Phone: (281) 240-0722
Website: http://www.napoliexpresspizza.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Napoli-Express-Pizza-529878047057398/
Timings:

Monday: 10:30 AM - 9 PM
Tuesday: Closed
Wednesday & Thursday: 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday & Saturday: 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday: 11 AM - 9 PM

Caters: Yes
Delivery available in certain areas

Feel free to comment below, send me a message on Facebook, or send me an email!

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed

Saturday, March 19, 2016

Tony's New York Pizzeria: A Halal Pizza Place in the North Side

Restaurant: Tony's New York Pizzeria
Address: 9203 Louetta Road, Spring, Texas 77379
Buffet or a-la-carte: a-la-carte
Date of visit: 3/9/16



Background:
Salam/hey guys, and welcome to my latest review! I had been busy earlier because I had my midterm exams. So the review is of a pizzeria that sells NY Style called Tony's. I've actually heard a lot of good things about that place from my friends and other foodies. I also wanted to go here because it's one of the few pizza places that serve by the slice. My chance to go here came when I had to go to Spring for some work. I had enough time until I had to be there, so I decided to come here for lunch and see whether the food lives up to what the people have said. After the really long drive from Prairie View on FM 2920 as well as Louetta, I arrived at the place.



Let the Experience Begin!
Tony's is located at the Valero gas station at the intersection of Louetta and Colony Creek Drive. Inside, the tables had checker boards, so if you want, you could play checkers. There was also an air hockey table. There were people in front of me when I arrived at the place. After waiting, it was my turn to order.



Let's Eat!
My first inclination was to get the buffet, but the pizza there wasn't halal. So I asked which ones were halal and he had explained it to me. So I ended up getting the lunch special consisting of a Philly Cheesesteak pizza with Caesar salad. I paid over $6 (tax included). The waiting time was 5 minutes and 37 seconds.



Menu: http://www.tonysnypizzahouston.com/#!menu/cwld
The menu here is pretty extensive. They have Sicilian style pizza and even pizza by the slice. They also have a couple of pastas and baked items as well. Remember, when ordering halal, you must request them when ordering. The items are priced at decent amounts. The halal options are: wings, chicken, meatballs, and their Philly Cheesesteak pizza.



Philly Cheesesteak Pizza and Caesar Salad


The Verdict:
The salad was very fresh. It went well with the ranch that came with it. The pizza, however, was average. The entire slice, from the cheese to the meats to the vegetables, tasted ok, nowhere near it's competitors. It was also very oily, one of the most oiliest pizzas that I have eaten. The food was washed down with water. Overall, one thumb up for the salad, and one side thumb for the pizza.
The service was good. The person was nice and told me the halal items that were available.



Conclusion:
Tony's is probably the only halal pizza place between 249 and I-45. It's just average to be honest. I'll probably only eat it if it's catered. If you want the best halal pizza in Houston, then I suggest you go somewhere else.



Grading: 
Service: 8/10
Food: 6/10
Total: 14/20 = 70% (C)
Pricing: $$ out of $$$$



Restaurant Information:
Tony's New York Pizza
9203 Louetta Road, Spring, Texas 77379
Phone: (281) 251-4500
Website: http://www.tonysnypizzahouston.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tonysnewyorkpizzahouston
Timings:

Mondays-Thursdays: 11 AM - 9:30 PM
Fridays-Saturdays: 11 AM - 10 PM
Sundays: closed

Caters: Yes
Delivery available

Feel free to comment below, send me an email, or message me on Facebook

Cheers!
Zain Mohammed